jump to navigation

March 12, 2007

Posted by anoddphrase in Uncategorized.
trackback

 flawed 

 

 

I come to you as flawed.

                        This
scar on my breast,
                                                     right here, just above the rise and fall
of my breathing
                                                                        just
above where my heart beats,
                                                                                                            full
and waiting;
                            is from a bicycle accident in Beijing,
                                       All I can remember is black ice on blacktop,
                                                                                                            and
swerving
                and when I awoke,
                                           on a leather
couch,   up four flights of stairs
                         I recall looking under the white
wool blankets

 

                                                to
see    tiny   blood stains slashing across where my
                                                                                                heart
should be.

 
I come to you as flawed:

 

                                                           
the sun has left kisses upon my cheek
                                                                                    scores
of them,
                                                                                                           as if brushed
                                                                                                    onto my cheekbone
                              sunny brown freckles
                                    that
have no rhyme
                                                no
reason.

                                                                  Simply because,
                                                                                   I hate the thick, oil lotion feeling
                                                                             
that       SUNSCREEN
                                                                        leaves
when rubbed upon my skin.

 

I come to you as flawed—

                                                            but
not because of my own fault,
                                    I
was born that way:
 

                                                              the coffee-colored pigmentation,
                                                                                                             on my knee

                                                                       is shaped like my mother
                                                                                 splashed that mixture of
                                                                                     milk, cream, sugar and coffee beans

                                                                                                onto
me,  in her womb
                                            
forgetful, as she is
                                            in the morning times

                But I like it. I was born that way.
 

 
                                                  –and that beauty mark on my hip,
                                                                        and
the one off my cheek
                                                                          and the one on my ass-cheek

                                                —Mian
Xiang   says it means I’m vain,   and 
                                                                                                                       
good
in bed.

 
                                                                                                those:
I was born with,
                                                                                                            and
then    grew into.
 

 
                                                                        but,    I come to you as flawed

 

 

 

                                                                                 imperfect,   in my own imperfect way.

 
 

 
…. ..

 . … .

  
……. ..

 ..

 

Comments»

1. harboringcurrents - April 24, 2008

i love this.


Leave a Reply

